BerthComing soon

Berth compared

Berth beside Apple’s Dock and the docks you might buy instead. Sources and dates are under the table.

Berth never asks for Screen Recording or Accessibility. Window previews and other apps’ badges need them or private frameworks, so Berth leaves them out.

Berth compared with Apple’s Dock, DockFix, Dockset, Sidebar, CoolDock and Dockspace; sources and dates are under the table.
BerthApple’s DockDockFixDocksetSidebarCoolDockDockspace
Profiles you switchYesBy shortcut, display or FocusNoOne dockTheme presetsYesBy shortcut, menu bar or FocusNot statedYesBy shortcut or hovering the dockNot stated
WidgetsYes12 built in, plus the notchNoYesYesYesMedia and calendarYes160+ in 20 categoriesYesAs tiles in Apple’s Dock
Never asks for Screen Recording or AccessibilityYesPart of macOSIts site says it needs neither; our check disagreesnote 1NoAsks for both, for previews and badgesNoAsks for bothNoAsks for Accessibility, for widgetsNot stated
Window previewsNoLeft out by designNoYesYesYesYesYes
Price€10 onceIncluded€14.99 onceFrom US$14.99 once€19.99 once, or €12.50 a year€29.99 once, or €14.99 for one yearFree, or $9.99 once for Pro
RequiresmacOS 13 or laterPart of macOSmacOS 14 or latermacOS 13 or latermacOS 13 or latermacOS 14 or latermacOS 14 or later

Berth and DockFix

Profiles you switch
Berth: YesBy shortcut, display or Focus
DockFix: Theme presets
Widgets
Berth: Yes12 built in, plus the notch
DockFix: Yes
Never asks for Screen Recording or Accessibility
Berth: Yes
DockFix: Its site says it needs neither; our check disagreesnote 1
Window previews
Berth: NoLeft out by design
DockFix: Yes
Price
Berth: €10 once
DockFix: €14.99 once
Requires
Berth: macOS 13 or later
DockFix: macOS 14 or later

Berth and Dockset

Profiles you switch
Berth: YesBy shortcut, display or Focus
Dockset: YesBy shortcut, menu bar or Focus
Widgets
Berth: Yes12 built in, plus the notch
Dockset: Yes
Never asks for Screen Recording or Accessibility
Berth: Yes
Dockset: NoAsks for both, for previews and badges
Window previews
Berth: NoLeft out by design
Dockset: Yes
Price
Berth: €10 once
Dockset: From US$14.99 once
Requires
Berth: macOS 13 or later
Dockset: macOS 13 or later

Berth and Sidebar

Profiles you switch
Berth: YesBy shortcut, display or Focus
Sidebar: Not stated
Widgets
Berth: Yes12 built in, plus the notch
Sidebar: YesMedia and calendar
Never asks for Screen Recording or Accessibility
Berth: Yes
Sidebar: NoAsks for both
Window previews
Berth: NoLeft out by design
Sidebar: Yes
Price
Berth: €10 once
Sidebar: €19.99 once, or €12.50 a year
Requires
Berth: macOS 13 or later
Sidebar: macOS 13 or later

Berth and CoolDock

Profiles you switch
Berth: YesBy shortcut, display or Focus
CoolDock: YesBy shortcut or hovering the dock
Widgets
Berth: Yes12 built in, plus the notch
CoolDock: Yes160+ in 20 categories
Never asks for Screen Recording or Accessibility
Berth: Yes
CoolDock: NoAsks for Accessibility, for widgets
Window previews
Berth: NoLeft out by design
CoolDock: Yes
Price
Berth: €10 once
CoolDock: €29.99 once, or €14.99 for one year
Requires
Berth: macOS 13 or later
CoolDock: macOS 14 or later

Berth and Dockspace

Profiles you switch
Berth: YesBy shortcut, display or Focus
Dockspace: Not stated
Widgets
Berth: Yes12 built in, plus the notch
Dockspace: YesAs tiles in Apple’s Dock
Never asks for Screen Recording or Accessibility
Berth: Yes
Dockspace: Not stated
Window previews
Berth: NoLeft out by design
Dockspace: Yes
Price
Berth: €10 once
Dockspace: Free, or $9.99 once for Pro
Requires
Berth: macOS 13 or later
Dockspace: macOS 14 or later

Berth and Apple’s Dock

Profiles you switch
Berth: YesBy shortcut, display or Focus
Apple’s Dock: NoOne dock
Widgets
Berth: Yes12 built in, plus the notch
Apple’s Dock: No
Never asks for Screen Recording or Accessibility
Berth: Yes
Apple’s Dock: Part of macOS
Window previews
Berth: NoLeft out by design
Apple’s Dock: No
Price
Berth: €10 once
Apple’s Dock: Included
Requires
Berth: macOS 13 or later
Apple’s Dock: Part of macOS

Other docks’ facts are from these pages, checked on 5 October 2026 and 11 October 2026: DockFix (dockfix.app, FAQ, changelog), Dockset (dockset.app, manual), Sidebar (sidebarapp.net, FAQ, changelog, prices; Setapp), CoolDock (cooldock.app; Peerlist; a review on Mause Reviews) and Dockspace (getdockspace.app, blog). Prices are as each page states them. “Not stated”: their pages do not say.

1 DockFix’s site, dockfix.app, says it “requires no special permissions” (5 October 2026). Installed on a Mac, DockFix 5.2.0 declared Screen Recording for window thumbnails, used Accessibility to raise windows and called the private SkyLight and MediaRemote frameworks. Our check: 29 September 2026.

Products change. Seen something out of date? Write to support@byallmeans.work.